Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias and dictionaries are useful publications to get a first introduction to a specific topic. You will find explanations and definitions for specific terms as well as references and suggestions for further reading.

For economics, New Palgrave dictionary of economics is a good resource.

Also, check out Britannica online which includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year.

Below, you will find a few other suggestions of encyclopedias within some of the fields of business and economics. To find others you can search in Primo for encyclopedia/dictionary and your field of study.

Encyclopedia examples

Encyclopedia of Law and Economics by Jürgen Georg Backhaus (Editor)
ISBN: 1461478839
Publication Date: 2019-03-08
Law and Economics deals with the economic analysis of legal relations, legal provisions, laws and regulations and is a research field which has a long tradition in economics.
Elgar Encyclopedia on the Economics of Knowledge and Innovation by Cristiano Antonelli (Editor)
ISBN: 9781839106989
Publication Date: 2022-10-14
A landmark reference work in the field, this Elgar Encyclopedia presents over 60 entries from scholars that have shaped the making of the economics of innovation as a distinct and specialised field of investigation within the broad range of economic disciplines.
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking by Jonathan Law
ISBN: 9781800377363
Publication Date: 2018-05-22
The dictionary defines terms from all aspects of personal and international finance, including financial trading, foreign exchange, derivatives, commercial and corporate banking, private investments and borrowing, central banking, monetary policy, and public and government finance.

Encyclopedia of International Strategic Management by Christian G. Asmussen (Editor); Niron Hashai (Editor); Dana Minbaeva (Editor)
ISBN: 9781800884038
Publication Date: 2024-02-16
Covering all areas of modern business practice, this edition now includes increased coverage of terms and concepts. It also looks at issues such as Internet business, private equity, structured finance, and much more.
Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation and Entrepreneurship by Elias G. Carayannis (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9783319153469
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
The Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship (CI2E) is a four-volume electronic and print reference that will uniquely cover the broad spectrum of topics relating to the process of creativity and innovation, from a wide variety of perspectives (e.g., economics, management, psychology, anthropology, policy, technology, education, the arts) and modes (individual, organization, industry, nation, region).
Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management by Stewart Johnstone (Editor); Jenny K. Rodriguez (Editor); Adrian Wilkinson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781800378834
Publication Date: 2023-02-28
this second edition of the Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management is an authoritative and comprehensive reference resource comprising almost 400 entries on core HR areas and concepts. Bringing together more than 200 international authorities on HRM and HR, the Encyclopedia presents an accessible and condensed overview of key HR topics, spanning from absenteeism and big data to whistleblowing and zero-hour contracts.
Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management by Stewart Johnstone (Editor); Jenny K. Rodriguez (Editor); Adrian Wilkinson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781800378834
Publication Date: 2023-02-28
This second edition of the Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management is an authoritative and comprehensive reference resource comprising almost 400 entries on core HR areas and concepts. Bringing together more than 200 international authorities on HRM and HR, the Encyclopedia presents an accessible and condensed overview of key HR topics, spanning from absenteeism and big data to whistleblowing and zero-hour contracts.

The Advanced Dictionary of Marketing by Scott Dacko
ISBN: 3030144496
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
This Encyclopedia provides an authoritative overview of the current field of social marketing. It covers various facets based on the numerous disciplines that support it, such as marketing, psychology, sociology, philosophy, management, economics and public policy, to mention a few.

CIRP Encyclopedia of Production Engineering
ISBN: 3642359507
Publication Date: 2020
The CIRP Encyclopedia covers the state-of-art of advanced technologies, methods and models for production, production engineering and logistics. While the technological and operational aspects are in the focus, economical aspects are addressed too.

Business & Economics

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia examples

Contact the library

Visiting address

Opening hours

Shortcuts