Global studies is a fresh and dynamic discipline area that promises to reinvigorate undergraduate and postgraduate education in the social sciences and humanities. In the Australian context, the interdisciplinary pedagogy that defines global studies is gaining wider acceptance as a coherent and necessary approach to the study of global change. Through the Global Studies Consortium (GSC), this new discipline is forming around an impressive body of international scholars who define their expertise in global terms. The GSC paves the way for the expansion of global studies programs internationally and for the development of teaching and research collaboration on a global scale. Mark Juergensmeyer and Helmut Anheier’s forthcoming Encyclopaedia of Global Studies with SAGE is evidence of this growing international collaboration, while the work of Professor Manfred Steger exemplifies the flourishing academic literature on globalization. RMIT University’s Global Cities Institute represents a substantial institutional investment in interdisciplinary research into the social and environmental implications of globalization in which it leads the way internationally. Given these developments, the time is right for a book series that draws together diverse scholarship in global studies. This Handbook allows for extended treatment of critical issues that are of major interest to researchers and students in this emerging field. The topics covered speak to an interdisciplinary approach to the study of global issues that reaches well beyond the confines of international relations and political science to encompass sociology, anthropology, history, media and cultural studies, economics and governance, environmental sustainability, international law and criminal justice. Specially commissioned chapters explore diverse subjects from a global vantage point and all deliberately cohere around core “global” concerns of narrative, praxis, space and place. This integrated approach sets the Handbook apart from its competitors and distinguishes Global Studies as the most equipped academic discipline with which to address the scope and pace of global change in the 21st century.

The past 30 years are often depicted as an era of globalisation, and even more so with the recent rise of global giants such as Google and Amazon. This updated and revised edition of The Handbook of Globalisation offers novel insights into the rapid changes our world is facing, and how best we can handle them. With multi-disciplinary contributions from leading experts, this Handbook covers a broad spectrum of issues and opportunities surrounding modern globalisation. It explores the idea that globalisation is not new, natural or inevitable, but rather that current global arrangements are the result of corporate pressure and the choices of politicians. It highlights the fact that the deregulated, free market form of globalisation is not unavoidable and explores a new era of global co-operation based around a Green New Deal. It also considers the future of globalisation in the face of the Trump presidency, Brexit and the move towards more state-centred policies. This Handbook continues to be a vital resource for scholars, students and researchers of economics, international relations, and business and management who wish to gain a more in-depth understanding of globalisation from a variety of different disciplines. Politicians and policy makers will also benefit from the advice offered to avoid some of the increasingly negative impacts of our globalising world.

Bilateral economic diplomacy is an increasingly popular method of ensuring both commercial and broader economic interests. In this Handbook over 30 leading experts from developed and developing countries, industrial nations and emerging economies have come together to form a global view of economic diplomacy. Representing a move away from Euro-centric books on the topic, this Handbook uses a combination of qualitative and quantitative research to explore how state visits, embassies and economic sanctions are being increasingly used as forms of diplomacy. Editors Peter van Bergeijk and Selwyn Moons have ensured that the entire research process is covered, from data collection to evidence based policy advice. As such, the Handbook reveals how and under which conditions economic diplomacy can be most effective, proving an invaluable tool for future research. The Research Handbook on Economic Diplomacy is a key resource for academics and researchers at policy institutions who wish to understand the field in greater depth. Policy makers and other actors at domestic and international levels would also greatly benefit from this extensive international view of economy diplomacy.

While the EU has championed ""effective multilateralism"" and experienced a dramatic internal reform process to improve its performance in external relations, broader multilateral processes have also undergone dramatic change. This handbook addresses the increasingly contested issue of profound political importance: Europe's presence in multilateral institutions. It assesses both the evolving role of Europe in international institutions, and the transformations in international institutions themselves.

The Routledge Handbook of the Politics of Migration in Europe provides a rigorous and critical examination of what is exceptional about the European politics of migration and the study of it.

The past two decades have witnessed the emergence of a large body of research examining the linkage between environmental scarcity, violent conflict, and cooperation. However, this environmental security polemic is still trying to deliver a well-defined approach to achieving peace. Studies are being undertaken to find the precise pathways by which cooperative actions are expected not only to pre-empt or moderate resource conflicts but also to help diffuse cooperative behaviour to other disputed issues. The recognition that environmental resources can contribute to violent conflict accentuates their potential significance as pathways for cooperation and the consolidation of peace in post-conflict societies. Conceived as a single and reliable reference source which will be a vital resource for students, researchers, and policy makers alike, the Routledge Handbook of Environmental Conflict and Peacebuilding presents a wide range of chapters written by key thinkers in the field

This book aims to provide a comprehensive overview of current theories and approaches in the area of engaged sustainability for academics, researchers and practitioners. Specifically, it will focus on making responsible decisions that will reduce humanity’s negative impact on the environment...The Handbook of Engaged Sustainability acknowledges the classic literature, theories and principles in the area of sustainability, but also provides new theories and approaches from global scholars and practitioners in the field. It will also provide a well-structured pedagogical framework with real life case examples. The aim of this handbook is to expand the reader’s thinking to one of “big-picture awareness” and a “cosmic vision” of sustainability, a vision that extends from our neighborhoods to our communities, to states, countries, globe, galaxy, and envelops the entire Universe! This book will serve as an essential resource for researchers, scholars and students of sustainability, ethics, corporate social responsibility and environmental economics, as well as consultants, business and team leaders, and anyone interested in engaged sustainability. .

Peacebuilding and statebuilding is one of the main approaches for preventing, managing, and mitigating global insecurities; dealing with the humanitarian consequences of civil wars; and expanding democracy and neoliberal economic regimes. Peace formation is a relatively new concept, addressing how local actors attempt to shape or work in parallel to international and national projects. This handbook serves as an essential guide to this vast intellectual landscape. It offers a systematic overview of conceptual foundations, political implications, and tensions at the global, regional, and local levels, as well as key policies, practices, examples, and discourses underlining all segments of peacebuilding and statebuilding.

This title systematically integrates the substantial body of scholarship on terrorism and counterterrorism before and after 9/11. In doing so, it introduces scholars and practitioners to state of the art approaches, methods, and issues in studying and teaching these vital phenomena. This handbook goes further than most existing collections by giving structure and direction to the fast-growing but somewhat disjointed field of terrorism studies. The volume locates terrorism within the wider spectrum of political violence instead of engaging in the widespread tendency towards treating terrorism as an exceptional act. Moreover, the volume makes a case for studying terrorism within its socio-historical context.

The editors therefore support a more inclusive perspective through case studies of a decentralized 'global' LGBT world. 2 Bosia introduces the handbook by problematizing the notion that the lesbian and gay liberation movement in the U.S. has been exported to other nations as a model of progress, thus challenging a merely 'Western' approach to global LGBT studies. Bosia does so by referencing to the 2019 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots and the common assumption that the riots mark the start of the modern global LGBT-movement, as well as the idea that struggles for same-sex marriage are central within the global LGBT-movement, instead of a more multi-faceted approach. 3 This handbook therefore emphasizes that non-Western narratives and global manifestations of empire and race are critical to understanding global LGBT politics. The overall focus is on challenging scholarly attention on largely Western experiences in the understanding LGBT identities and politics. 5 Central within the second section, "Case Studies in Global Sexual and Gender Diversity Politics," is the inclusion of queer sexualities and forms of identification.