Artiklar

Det finns olika typer av tidskriftsartiklar och de publiceras i olika typer av tidskrifter, till exempel branschtidskrifter eller vetenskapliga tidskrifter. Vetenskapliga artiklar presenterar nya forskningsresultat eller nya teorier, men de kan också vara översikter över tidigare publicerade forskningsresultat. Innan en vetenskaplig artikel publiceras genomgår den en så kallad peer review-process där andra forskare inom ämnet granskar artikeln och bedömer om den bör publiceras eller inte.

Biblioteket vid North Carolina State University har gjort en film som på bara tre minuter förklarar vad peer review innebär.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOCQZ7QnoN0&t=90s

Databaser och söktjänster

Det finns flera olika typer av söktjänster och databaser.

Till en början kanske du vill söka brett för att ta reda på hur mycket som verkar vara skrivet inom ditt område.

För mer precisa sökningar där du kan använda dig av olika söktekniker och kan avgränsa till vetenskapliga artiklar är artikeldatabaser en bra idé. Några är av allmän karaktär och spänner över många ämnesområden t.ex ProQuest Central medan andra, som Social Science Premium Collection fokuserar på ett smalare forskningsfält.

Det finns också citeringsdatabase där du hittar information om hur en artikel har använts av andra forskare. Du kan därmed följa hur forskningsresultaten använts, hur forskningen utvecklats samt hitta nyare artiklar utifrån en befintlig, intressant artikel.

Nedan följer utvalda exempel på artikeldatabaser av de olika typerna som kan vara användbara för IA-området. Du hittar ännu fler via Databaser A-Ö.

Ämnesövergripande databaser - bra att börja med

ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Google Scholar's index includes most peer-reviewed online journals of Europe and America's largest scholarly publishers.
Ulrichsweb
Use when you want to know if a Journal is peer-reviewed or not. Also if you need information about certain Journals.

Ämnesdatabaser

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
An essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. 1951-
Politics Collection
This collection provides access to databases such as PAIS and WPSA, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more.
Religion Database
ProQuest's Religion Database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.
Social Science Premium Collection
Combines collections in politics and sociology, with coverage on applied social sciences, criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Coverage also includes policy issues in areas such as aging, violence, abuse and neglect, crisis intervention, urban development, and development policy
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is a ProQuest database that provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI.

Citeringsdatabaser

Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database from Elsevier containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers research in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
Web of Science
Web of Science consists of databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, and more.

Globala studier

Artiklar

Databaser och söktjänster

Ämnesövergripande databaser - bra att börja med

Ämnesdatabaser

Citeringsdatabaser

Contact the library

Visiting address

Opening hours

Shortcuts