Skip to main content

EndNote

Tags: English, General

03. The EndNote library

03. Create an EndNote library

What is an EndNote library?

By this is meant a collection of references which you can easily insert into your Word document and automatically create a bibliography (reference list) at the end of that document. All will be handled according to the reference style of your choice, say APA or Vancouver, or any of a thousand others to choose from (see more on this in the chapter Output styles).

References can be created manually, imported into EndNote by the Online Search function, or exported from a bibliographic database, such as Cinahl, Academic Search, Business Source Premier, LIBRIS etc. You may also add additional information to each reference, like keywords, notes and abstracts, and full text PDF documents.

Your library is made up of two separate files: one with the file extension .enl  and one with the file extension .Data. These two files always go together, so when you are copying your library, always remember to copy both the .enl file and the .Data file, or better yet, use the Compressed Library (.enlx) function.

Creating your EndNote library

You can create a new library from the EndNote menu by choosing File > New

The next step is to choose where to save the library and what to call it. By default, it will be saved to either the C or G drive of your computer, depending on whether you have had your EndNote installed on your personal computer (like a laptop or at home) or the computer at your work (within the University network). EndNote will automatically assign it to the right drive and the Documents file. It will also, by default, save it under the name My EndNote Library and with the file extension .enl. You are of course free to change the name to wathever you want, but let the file extension remain the same: John Doe.enl. You may also save your EndNote library on your OneDrive account. The advantages with this is that you can access your EndNote library through the Internet, your smart phone or tablet (e.g. iPad or Android tablet). Here are the differences between C drive, G drive and OneDrive:

C drive - try to avoid saving your EndNote library solely on your C drive since, should your computer crash your library will be lost

G drive - this is the university network drive and anything saved here will also be saved on the university server and thus will work as a backup copy

OneDrive - a cloud based file-hosting service on which you can save your EndNote library and it will work as a backup copy as well. The added advantages compared to saving it on the G drive is that you can access your library through the Internet, your smart phone or tablet. More about OneDrive at JU.

N.B.! It is advisable to create only one library. Within this library you can then create your own groups in order to easily manage all your references (more on this in the Groups section of this guide). Also, be sure to make backup copies of your library regularly, in case something really bad happens to your computer (see Compressed files).

Your created library

This is what your library looks like when opened in EndNote. In the example below, I have already collected a number of references and created a number of so-called Group Sets (headings) and Groups (folders). The main part of what you see consists of three panels:


The left panel

In the left, blue panel, you see all the folders and any of your chosen Online Search databases (more on this in the section Online search):

  • All references - All references in your library (including the ones in the Unfiled category).
  • Imported references - This is shown when you have imported references from a database. The number of references are shown within parantheses.
  • Sync Status - Clicking on this icon will give you information about the EndNote library that you selected to synchronize with your EndNote online library (see Synchronizing libraries).
  • Recently added - This shows the references you have added the last 24 hours (default) which can be changed to the last 7, 14 or 30 days by right-clicking on the icon.
  • Unfiled - All references that you have imported from journal databases or library catalogs that you haven't yet assigned to any of your folders (if you have any). The unfiled references are also included in the All references category.
  • Trash - all references that are deleted are placed in the Trash bin and will stay there until you empty it by right-clicking on the trash bin icon or by opening the trash bin and only deleting the references that you actively mark.
  • Group Sets - In this example, the Group Sets I have created are called "Team VetPub" and "Article" etc. Under each Group Set heading you create Groups which consist of folders wherein you file all the references within a particular subject, project, or whatever you find most convenient for your own way of structuring your research. More about this in the section Groups.
  • Online Search - here are specific journal databases or library catalogs that you have chosen to search in from within EndNote. More about this in the section Online search.
  • Find Full Text - A function that will find full texts to articles and add them as attachments to the references in your library (see Adding file attachments).

The middle panel

In the middle panel, you see the references in the folder that you currently have marked, whether it be the whole library (All references), newly imported references (Unfiled) or any of the sub groups (folders under the Group Sets). If you click on any particular reference it will be blue-marked and information about it will be displayed in the right pane (see below). Above the references there is a search window from which you can search among all references in your library. You may search in all fields or define specific fields such as Author, or Title in the drop down lists on the left of the search fields. You may also add several additional search fields by clicking the + to the right.

The right panel

The right panel consists of mainly three tabs: Reference, Preview, and Attached PDFs:

  • The Reference tab shows the form with all the fields for the reference you have highlighted.  
  • The Preview tab displays the reference you have highlighted in the way it looks according to the style you have chosen.
  • The Attached PDFs tab displays the PDF of the reference you have highlighted (if you have attached one). Click on the square and arrow icon to bring up the PDF to normal size. In that PDF you can also add notes and highlight text.