Skip to main content

EndNote

Tags: English, General

06. Importing references

Importing references from databases

There are several ways to add references to your EndNote library, by adding them manually (see section 05 "Add a new reference"), by online search from within EndNote (08 "Online Search"), and by importing them from a database (this section). Don't get confused by the linguistic usage of import/export, it's just a matter of point of view of the process.

The basics

The basics of exporting references from a database into EndNote consist of mainly three steps:

  1. Select the references that you want to export
  2. Find and use the export function in the database
  3. Execute the export

When you have searched for publications in a database and found references that you want to include in your EndNote library, you do this by exporting the references from the database into EndNote and your EndNote library. Sometimes you will encounter the option to download citations in RIS which is a file format that EndNote uses (read about RIS here).

Different databases, or rather database hosts that include several databases using the same search interface (like Ebsco, ProQuest etc.), offer somewhat different ways to handle their export functions. Some databases do not have such a simple export function, so you have to use so-called import filters, which you can learn more about in section 11 "Import filters".

The references will be exported into your EndNote library. What usually happens is that when you click on the export or download option in the database, EndNote will open and you will see the new references in the Imported References folder of the left blue pane (My Library) of your EndNote library. All references that appear in the Imported References folder in EndNote will automatically be moved to the Unfiled folder if the imported references are not moved to any other group and you continue to import references:

Then, just drag and drop them to the Group folders wherein you want to store them.

To import references by so-called direct import (the fastest way) there might be slight differences between different browsers:

Google Chrome

When you save a file it will look like this in your browser:

When you click on Open EndNote will open and the references will be imported into your liibrary.

Mozilla Firefox

In Mozilla Firefox the best way is to go to the bowser settings and click on (1.) Options and then under the heading Downloads tick the (2.) box next to Always ask me where to save files

When you save the references you will then get the following option:

Choose Open with and select EndNote from the drop down menu. When you click on OK EndNote will open and the references will be imported into your library.

 

Database hosts and databases

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost is a database host that provides access to several databases, and therefore, these databases use the same interface.

Databases on EBSCOhost:
AMED
Business Source Premier
CINAHL
Communication Source
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
MEDLINE

  • Mark the records you want to export by clicking on the folder icon to the right to each reference in the reference list or under the heading Tools if you have opened the full bibliographic record. The closed folder icon will change into an open folder icon:

  

 

Click on the Folder icon in the upper right corner:

  • Mark all the records you want to export into EndNote and click on Export:

 

  • Then, in the Export Manager, make sure that Direct export to EndNote etc. is selected and click on Save:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

Google Scholar

In Google Scholar you have to click on each bibliographic record (the article title) and export the citations one by one.

  • First, you have to go to Google Scholar settings and activate the EndNote import function:

  • Under the Bibliography manager heading select Show links to import citations into and choose EndNote in the drop down menu next to it. Finally, click on Save:

  • Under each title in the search results list you click on the link that says Import into EndNote:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

LIBRIS

  • Mark the records that you want to export into EndNote by ticking the box next to each reference:

  • Next, click on CITE at the bottom of the search list or, in the bibliographic record, at the bottom of the record:

  • Choose .RIS in the drop down menu and click on Save as file:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

Oxford Journals

  • Mark the records that you want to export into EndNote by ticking the box next to each reference:

  • Next, tick the box next to download to citation manager and click on Go:

  • Click on Download ALL Selected Citations to Citation Manager:

  • Finally, click on EndNote:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

ProQuest

ProQuest is a database host that provides access to several databases, and therefore, these databases use the same interface.

Databases on ProQuest:
ABI/INFORM
EconLit
ERIC
ProQuestCentral
PsycARTICLES
PsycINFO
Religion Database
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

  • Mark the records that you want to export into EndNote by ticking the box next to each reference:

  • Next, click on Save to the right above the search list and choose RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.):

  • Click on Continue at the bottom of the next pop-up window:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

PubMed

  • Mark the records that you want to export into EndNote by ticking the box next to each citation:

 

  • Next, click on Send to to the right above the search list, choose Citation manager, and click on Create File:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

SAGE Journals

In SAGE Journals you have to click on each bibliographic record (the article title) and export the citations one by one.

  • Click on a title to get to the abstract/full text view and click on Cite to the right:

  • Select EndNote in the drop down menu and click on Download Citation:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

ScienceDirect

  • Mark the records that you want to export into EndNote by ticking the box next to each citation:

  • Next, click on the arrow next to Export that is found at the top of the search list to bring up the export options window and tick the boxes RIS and (preferably) Citations and Abstracts and click on Export at the bottom:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

Scopus

  • Mark the records that you want to export into EndNote by ticking the box next to each citation:

  • Click on Export at the top of the search list to bring up the options and select RIS Format and select the type of information you want to export, for example Citations and abstract information. Finally, click on Export:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

SpringerLink

In SpringerLink you have to click on each bibliographic record (the article title) and export the citations one by one.

  • Click on a title to get to the abstract/full text view and click on Export citation to the right:

  • Select EndNote in the drop down menu:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

Taylor & Francis Online

In Taylor & Francis Online you have to click on each bibliographic record (the article title) and export the citations one by one.

  • Click on a title to get to the abstract/full text view and click on Download citation under the title and author information:

  • Select RIS under "Choose format" and any of the options under "Include" and click on Download citations:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

Web of Science

  • Mark the records that you want to export into EndNote by ticking the box next to each reference:

  • Next, select Save to EndNote desktop from the drop down menu above the search list:

  • Choose (preferably) Full Record among the record content options and click on Send:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).

 

Wiley Online Library

  • Mark the records that you want to export into EndNote by ticking the box next to each reference:

  • Next, click on Export Citation at the top or bottom of the search list:

  • Choose EndNote among the options in the drop down list next to Format and Citation or Citation & Abstract among the options in the drop down list next to Export type and click on Submit:

  • Open the references in EndNote (as described under the Google Chrome/Mozilla Firefox headings above).