Skip to main content

EndNote

Tags: English, General

04. Collect

04. Collect

Start collecting references

In EndNote Online, you can gather references in several ways. Below I will explain how to search for references from inside of EndNote Online (Online Search), how to create references manually (New Reference), and how to import references from files (Import References). These options are all found under the Collect tab in EndNote Online.

 

Online Search

Doing an online search means that you search in a database from inside of EndNote Online and the references you find is downloaded to your EndNote Online library. Click on the subheading Online Search to start searching.

  • Choose a database to search in from the drop-down list. The list contains, in alphabetical order, all the databases you can search from that are supplied by EndNote Online. If you only want this list to include the databases that you are interested in, you can create a Favorites list of your own. Click on Select Favorites:

 

  • You will see a list of all the available databases. From this you can select the ones you want in your list by highlighting them and click on Copy to Favorites. When you are done, click on Hide in the uppermost right corner:

 

  • Once you have selected a database, click on Connect (in the example I have selected the Swedish National Library, which is also called LIBRIS):

 

  • You will now see search fields and search option for the database you have selected:

 

  • If you select the option Select a range of records to retrieve you will first see how many records you are about to import into your library. If they are too many you should limit your search or change the number of records to import:

 

  • Click on Retrieve to import the records. Your view will then change to the My References view where you can manage the imported references in your library:

 

  • You can tick the boxes in front of each reference, or tick the box All or Page above the list of references, and add those references into specific Groups (see about this in 05. Organize):

 

  • Clicking on the title of a reference will let you see the full bibliographic record (the descriptive data) and give you the option to upload a PDF file or any other attachment to that record (Attach files). You may correct any data or add missing data in this view as well, just click in the field where you want to add or correct information and click on Save which will turn up when you start adding or changing anything. Click on Return to list at the top of the record to get back to the reference list:

 

New Reference

Sometimes you have to create a reference manually. The information you have to add is information that is needed to create a full reference according to the style you are using, for example APA, Vancouver, IEEE, Oxford etc.

  • Click on the subheading New Reference. This brings up the New Reference view. You should concentrate on the Bibliographic Fields since they are the important ones:

 

  • First you have to select the Reference Type from the drop-down menu. The most common types are Journal Article, Magazine Article, Newspaper Article, Book, Book Section (e.g. a contribution/chapter in an edited book), Conference Paper, Report, Thesis, and Web Page:

 

  • Remember that when entering author names you have to first write the last name followed by a comma, then the first name. You must also enter each name on a new line:

 

  • When you have entered the necessary information, click on Save:

 

  • The newly created reference is then found in the Unfiled folder. Select a group from the Add to group drop-down menu in which you want to place the reference (see about Groups in 05. Organize):

 

Import References

There is mainly two steps to complete in order to import references into EndNote Online from different databases:

1. Save the references you want from a database that you have searched in. In most databases that you search in you can download the selected references as a text file which you then can import into your EndNote Online library by using a so-called filter. The filter will format the text file into an EndNote file.

2. Importing the downloaded file of references into EndNote

atabases you can use a function called Direct Export to EndNote. With this option the references are imported directly into EndNote Online.

 

1. Save the references you want from a database that you have searched in

In most databases you can select the references that you want and save them as an EndNote file which you then can import into your EndNote Online library. In some databases this file is also called RIS (Research Information Systems - a file format for citation software programs like EndNote). In databases you will see links/icons like Export or Save which include options to download/save a file of the references that you have selected. 

Below is an example from the database platform ProQuest (which hosts databases such as ABI/Inform, ERIC, PsycINFO).

  • Select the references that you want to import into your EndNote library by ticking the boxes in front of the titles and click on Save in the uppermost right corner:

 

  • Among the options presented under Save, choose RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.):

  • Save the file on your computer and follow the import instructions next (2. Importing the downloaded file of references into EndNote)

 

2. Importing the downloaded file of references into EndNote

  • Choose a database to search in from the drop-down list next to Import Option. The list contains, in alphabetical order, all the databases you can search from that are supplied by EndNote Online. If you only want this list to include the databases that you are interested in, you can create a Favorites list of your own. Click on Select Favorites:

 

  • You will see a list of all the available databases. From this you can select the ones you want in your list by highlighting them and click on Copy to Favorites. When you are done, click on Hide in the uppermost right corner:

 

  • Once you have selected a database to import from (Import Option), click on Browse next to File to select the downloaded file with references from a database you have searched in. Then, click on Connect (in the example I have selected the database platform ProQuest which among other databases include ERIC from where I have downloaded a couple of references):

 

  • The name of the file you have selected from your computer is written out next to the Browse button:

 

  • Next, select the Group in which you want to have the imported references in the drop-down menu next to To. If you haven't created any Groups yet, select [Unfiled] in the list:

 

  • You will then see the import information. Click on the name of the Group within quotation marks (in this example "Bibliometrics") and you will be taken to that Group in the My References view: