Adding references from your EndNote Online library to a Word document
Cite While You Write (CWYW for short) is a plug-in feature for Word that is available on all computers at Jönköping University. If you have a private computer, or using Word at home you can download CWYW from EndNote as described below. This feature allows you to insert citations and references directly into your Word document as you write. You can change all citations and references in the text from one output style to another, let's say from APA to Vancouver. CWYW will convert them automatically and according to the set of rules of each style. You can also edit specific citations in the text. If you change a reference in your EndNote Online library, it will be changed in your Word document as well.
If you are using Word through the university network or have installed the CWYW plug-in and restarted Word, you will see a tab in your toolbar called EndNote. Below, I first give an overview of this feature, and then goes into further detail on how to work with Cite While You Write.
For EndNote (desktop) users:
If you also have the desktop version of EndNote, you can change applications (that is, from EndNote (desktop) to EndNote Online and vice versa) anytime, for example if you are working with Word on a computer without your EndNote (desktop) installed:
- Go to the EndNote tab in Word, click on Preferences, choose the tab Application, select EndNote online in the drop-down menu next to Application, enter your EndNote Online account details, and finally click on OK:
- You are now connected to your EndNote Online library instead, even though it probably it is a synchronized version of your desktop library
If you don't use Word through the university network, you must install CWYW to Word on the computer you are using.
- Click on the tab Downloads to get to the Download Installers options:
- Click on Download Windows, or Download Macintosh (if you are using Word on Macintosh) and save the installer on your computer and then install it. Please remember to first close Word and all other Microsoft Office programs before you do this. It is when you open Word next time that CWYW will be installed into Word.
Cite While You Write in Word - toolbar overview
- In your Word document you should see a (new) tab to the rightmost of the upper toolbar:
- When you click on the EndNote tab the following panel of boxes will appear in a submenu underneath:
- In the first box called Citations you find:
Find Citations - Clicking on this will open a submenu where you can search for citations in your EndNote Online library and insert them into your document (see further below).
Go To EndNote Online - This will take you to EndNote Online.
Edit Citation(s) - Highlight a citation in the text in order to edit it manually (see further below).
- In the second box called Bibliography you find:
Style - This drop-down meny is your favourites list of output styles from which you can pick any available style you like in your Word document. Choosing a new style will automatically update all in-text citations and the bibliography. See further down how to customize this list.
Update Citations and Bibliography - Clicking on this option will update all citations and the bibliography in your Word document according to changes made in your EndNote Online library.
Convert Citations and Bibliography - A drop-down menu will give you a couple of options of how to convert your Word document, if you have finished writing an article which you want to send away to a publisher, for instance (see more about this below).
- In the third box called Tools you find:
Export to EndNote - Fore example, you can export citations created using Word's built-in citation tool (the tab References in Word) into EndNote and convert them into EndNote references.
Preferences - You can change applications from EndNote (desktop) to EndNote Online and vice versa.
EndNote Help - EndNote Online Help function.
Setting and changing output styles (reference styles)
- In the Bibliography box you have a list where you select the output style (or reference style) in which you want to format your citations and references. Common styles are APA and Vancouver (check with your school to see which style you should use).
- You can switch between different styles anytime you want and if you want any other style that you can't find in the list, you just have to go back to EndNote Online and click on the Format tab and choose the subheading Bibliography:
- Click on Select Favorites (see above) to bring up a list with all available styles. In the left column you highlight the style you want to add to My Favorites list and then click on Copy to Favorites:
- Click on Hide in the uppermost right corner to close the window.
- This Favorites list is the same as the one you have in Word
Inserting citations into you Word document and generating a reference list (Bibliography)
There are several ways to work with Cite While You Write and I will show you some of them. However, you should choose a way to work that suits you best.
- Place the cursor in the text where you want to insert a citation and click on Insert Citations:
- This will open a search box wherein you can search for references from your EndNote library, by author, word(s) from the title or any other bibliographic data. Beneath the search field, the references that match your search criteria will be listed and in the pane below all the bibliographic data for the references will be displayed. Highlight the reference that you want to use and click on the Insert button.
- You may also specify this operation by choosing to insert the citation but excluding author(s), year, or both. Another way to search is to use a so-called truncation asterisk, which means that you find words starting with the same text string. Just type an asterisk (*) at the end of a word string. For instance, nurs* will find words such as nurse, nurses, nursing.
- The citation will be inserted in the text and the whole reference will be placed at the end of the document, thus accumulating a reference list along the way:
If you are using a footnote system, like Oxford, OSCOLA etc., you first have to insert a footnote in Word by clicking on the References tab and choose Insert Footnote, or simply use Alt + Ctrl + F. Then, go back to the EndNote tab and click on Insert Citation.
- You can edit citations by first marking the one you want to edit in the text and then click on Edit Citation(s):
- In the window that comes up you can see the highlighted citation that you have marked and in which context it appears in the text:
EndNote Edit & Manage Citations consists of:
- Exclude author - Tick the box to exclude author name in the highlighted citation, for example, if you have mentioned the author's name in the text and don't need to repeat it in the citation, in accordance with the rules of the style.
- Exclude year - Tick the box to exclude year in the highlighted citation.
- Prefix - Enter text that will appear in front of the citation, for example, 'as cited by' etc.
- Suffix - Enter text that will appear after the citation.
- Pages - Enter page numbers, for example, when you have included a quotation.
- Edit Reference - Clicking on the Edit Reference button will bring up a couple of options:
Edit Library Reference - This will take you to that reference in your EndNote library
Remove Citation - This removes the citation from that place in the Word document
Insert Citation - This brings up the Insert Citation window (see above) and you may insert another citation within the same parantheses by selecting a new one and click on OK
Update from My Library - Updates the reference if you have made any recent changes to it
In the reference list at the end of the Word document, a typical APA style reference will look like this:
- As you can see, the second and third rows are indented by default. If you don't like this, you can change it from the Bibliography box by first clicking on the arrow to the right of the heading:
- Click on the Layout tab in the EndNote Configure Bibliography window that comes up, and change the value of the so-called Hanging indent to zero instead of the default value:
Convert bibliography to plain text
As long as your Word document is connected with your EndNote library you cannot make any changes to the citations or references, since they will be immediately formatted back to as they were. If you want to make manual changes to the citations and references in your Word document without changing them in your library (perhaps you want to make other kinds of changes), all of EndNote's field codes have to be cut off from their connection with your EndNote library. What you do is to simply make a copy of your Word document that removes all field codes from the citations and references and leave them as plain text. This is done by the Convert to Plain Text function.
- In the Bibliography box, click on the arrow next to Convert Citations and Bibliography to display the options and select Convert to Plain Text:
- Word will want to create a new copy of the converted document which you should save under a different name. Don't forget to also save the unconverted original so that you can edit in that version if needed later on. Click OK: