Skip to main content

Publishing Strategy

Tags: English, General

Tools to find journals

Tools to find journals

There are a number of tools, both free resources and those that you only have access to via the university network, where you can identify journals by subject and get additional information about them. Below are presented a couple of the most important ones.

 

General catalogs and directories

 

Ulrichsweb

Ulrichsweb is a directory of journals and other periodical literature where you can get information on aspects such as:

  • Is the journal peer reviewed?
  • How long has the journal been published?
  • Is the journal subscription-based or open access?
  • In which databases is the journal indexed (that is, in which databases can the articles i the journal be found)?
  • What journals are there within my field?

You can search for individual journals by title or ISSN ("Known Item Search") as well as search for journals by subject, type of journal, language etc. ("Advanced Search"). Furthermore, you can also delimit extensive research results.
 

  Ulrichsweb - Best Practices For Known-Item Searching [1:37]

  Ulrichsweb - Advanced Searching and Using Facets [3:03]

 

Open Access journals

 

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) (free resource)

DOAJ is a free directory of open access journals. The journals that are listed in DOAJ have undergone a qualitative vetting process based on aspects such as the journals' peer review process, editorial board, contact information etc. See more about this here. Besides this, you can also search for open access articles. DOAJ can answer questions like these:

  • Are there any open access journals within my field?
  • Is the open access journal I'm curious about included in DOAJ?
  • Is there any author fee included (APC - Article Processing Charge)?
  • From which country is the journal?
  • How long is the publishing process (Time from submission to publication)?
     

  Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) [3:26]

 

Databases based on evaluation and indicators

 

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)

In the database Journal Citation Reports (JCR) you can find the journals that are indexed in Web of Science and which receives Impact Factors but other similar indicators as well. Included are the journals which are indexed in the sub databases SCI-Expanded (Science Citation Index) and SSCI (Social Sciences Citation Index) of Web of Science. Journals in Web of Science which are categorized within the humanities are not assigned any impact factors although thay are included in A&HCI (Arts & Humanities Citation Index). Among other things you can get answers to questions like:

  • What is the Impact Factor of journal X?
  • How is a specific journal ranked within its Web of Science category?
  • Which journals can I find within a specific Web of Science category?
  • How can I compare journals that I am interested in based on Impact Factor or other indicators?

All the indicators in JCR are based on citations within Web of Science, that is, how many citations, in average, have the journal's articles received during a certain time period. N.B! You can't compare journals based on Impact Factors between different categories!
 

  Journal Citation Reports - Quick Tour [3:02]

  Journal Citation Reports - Compare Journals [4:17]

For a list of all journals indexed in Web of Science, see: Master Journal List

See further under step 3. Analyze the Journals - Impact factors: Web of Science

 

Scimago Journal & Country Rank (free resource)

In the database Scimago Journal & Country Rank you can find journals that are indexed in Scopus and are assigned the indicator SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) but also other types of indicators. Among other things you can get answers to questions like:

  • What SJR does a certain journal have?
  • How is a specific journal ranked within its Scopus category?
  • Which journals can I find within a specific Scopus category?
  • How can I compare journals that I am interested in based on SJR or other indicators?
     

 SCImago Journal & Country Rank - Help

See further under step 3. Analyze the Journals - Impact factors: Scopus 

 

Google Scholar (free resource)

In Google Scholar (under the heading 'Metrics') you get top-20 lists of journals within different subject categories. The lists are based on citations to the journals via reference lists in all the publications that are indexed in Google Scholar. This means that the citations may come from other journal articles as well as from reports, student theses etc. and other types of publications.
 

 Google Scholar Metrics (information about the indicators used in the database)

 

NSD - Norwegian Register for Scientific Journals, Series and Publishers

Norwegian Centre for Research Data (NSD) compiles this database of journals and book publishers based on quality criteria. The journals (as well as the publishers) are divided into two quality levels, 1 and 2, where journals on level 2 (approximately 20%) are those that have higher prestige within the research community. The database is multidisciplinary.

  • What journals can I find within a certain subject category?
  • Is the journal I am interested in indexed in NSD at all?
  • Is the journal I am interested in classified as level 1 or 2?
     

NSD - Criteria for inclusion of new scientific publication channels

 

ERIH PLUS (The European Reference Index for the Humanities and the Social Sciences) (free resource)

ERIH PLUS was created by European researchers and the Standing Committee for the Humanities (SCH) at the European Science Foundation (ESF) and contains journals within the humanities and social sciences. The database is managed by NSD (Norwegian Centre for Research Data) since 2014. In order for a journal to be indexed in ERIH PLUS it has to meet a number of quality criteria.

  • What journals can I find within the humanities and social sciences?
  • Is the journal I am interested in indexed in ERIH PLUS at all?
     

About ERIH PLUS

Criteria for inclusion of new journals

ERIH PLUS - Approval procedures

 

Librarian

Stefan Carlstein's picture
Stefan Carlstein
Contact:
Jönköping University Library
+46 (0)36 10 10 15