With a journal selecting tool you use the title and abstract of your manuscript to match suitable journals. This is a compliment to other ways to identify journals and is by no means a comprehensive method. The method that these tools use is based on text mining and they use statistical algorithms to match title and abstract with articles indexed in the database of the journal selector and thus present suitable journals. You should keep in mind that journal selectors are database or publisher specific tools which means that the journals that are presented to you as possible candidates are restricted to those that belong to the selection of journals of the database or publisher. When you have found one or several potential journals the next step is to analyze them closer (see step 3. Analyze the journals).
A Japaneze company which offers support to researchers have created this journal selector that can match your abstract or keywords against over 28,000 journals from publishers such as Elsevier, John Wiley & Sons, Nature Publishing Group, Springer, Taylor & Francis and more. You can also limit the selection to only journals indexed in Web of Science, to those that are open access or offers open access possibilities. Any Impact Factors (Web of Science) are displayed in the search results. When you click on a journal title you will get information on:
- Publisher - information about which publisher owns the journal
- Article processing charges (APC) - the author fee you have to pay in order to publish in the journal (open access journals and paid open access)
- Embargo time - the amount of time after having published the article in the journal before you are allowed to share your peer reviewed accepted manuscript in a digital repository (such as DiVA). Read more about this so-called green open access option.
- SJR (SCImago Journal Rank) - the database Scopus' equivalent to Web of Science's Impact Factor
- SNIP (Source normalized impact per paper) - another journal indicator used in Scopus
- IPP (Impact per publication) - another journal indicator used in Scopus
- CC licenses - any Creative Commons licenses describing how others may use an article in the journal
- h-index - an indicator that describes the number of citations to the journal in relation to the number of articles published by the journal in the same time period (see more about the h-index here)
- SCI (Science Citation Index) - indicates if the journal is included in Web of Science's index SCI which indexes journals within science
- SCI-E (Science Citation Index - Expanded) - indicates if the journal is included in Web of Science's index SCI which indexes journals within science (actually the same as above)
- SSCI (Social Sciences Citation Index) - indicates if the journal is included in Web of Science's index SSCI which indexes journals within the social sciences
- A&HCI (Arts & Humanities Citation Index) - indicates if the journal is included in Web of Science's index SCI which indexes journals within art and humanities
Elsevier is a large commercial publisher with over 2,500 journals. You enter the title and abstract of your manuscript and you can limit the search to specific subjects and/or journals that offer open access possibilities. In the search list you will get information about:
- Match - matching (in percent, if you hold the cursor above the match icon)
- Impact - an Impact Factor is shown if the journal is indexed in Journal Citation Report (Web of Science)
- Editorial Times - the time between submitted manuscript and a first decision to send it further for peer review or rejection
- Acceptance - the share of manuscripts in percentage that are accepted for publication in the journal
- Production Times - time in weeks from acceptance to online posting of the article on the journal's website
- Open Access - open access options where:
Yes - means that it is an open access journal
Optional - means that you can make your article open access for a fee stated in the heading Open Access Fee (also known as APC - Article Processing Charge)
- [a dash] - means that no open access options are available for the journal
- Embargo period - the amount of time after having published the article in the journal before you are allowed to share your peer reviewed accepted manuscript in a digital repository (such as DiVA). Read more about this so-called green open access option.
- Open Access Fee - the author fee (APC) to make the article open access
- User License - icons that describe what others can do with the article based on Creative Commons
The IEEE Publication Recommender is managed by IEEE designed to help authors find an IEEE periodical or an IEEE conference to submit a manuscript to. You can paste keywords, manuscript title, abstract text, or upload the full article. You can choose to search for only periodicals or only conferences, or both (default setting). You will be presented with tables with suggestions for periodical and/or conferences. You can sort the search list further by releveance, title (alphabetical), Impact Factor, and submission-to-publication time. Clicking on a periodical title will include such information as:
- Journal indicators from Web of Science: Impact Factor, Eigenfactor, and Article Influence Score
- Open Access Availability
- Submission to Publication in IEEE's database Xplore
- Issues per year
- Aims & Scope
- Information and link to publisher (normally an IEEE society)
- Link to periodical website
- Contact information
JANE is managed by BioSemantics Group at the Erasmus University Medical Center in Rotterdam, the Netherlands. It is based on journals that are indexed in Medline. You enter the title and/or abstract of your manuscript and you can also limit your search (Extra options) to language, article types (for example case reports, clinical trial, meta-analysis, review, twin study etc.), open access journals, and if the journals should be included in PubMed Central (PMC) which is an open access archive at the National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). I the search list you will get information about:
- Confidence - the confidence level shows the accuracy of the match between your search and the journal - hold the cursor above the blue line to see the percentage
- Open Access - indicates if it is an open access journal
- PubMed Central - if the journal is indexed in PubMed Central and if there is a time embargo before an article is posted there
- Article Influence - Article Influence is a bibliometric indicator based on how often articles are cited within a five-year period
- Show articles - you can look at the articles that the matching is built upon
Instead of journals you can look at the authors or articles that match your title/abstract search.
In the author search (Find authors) you will get the following information in the search list:
- Confidence - the confidence level shows the accuracy of the match between your search and the author (based articles that she/he has published and are included in the match) - hold the cursor above the blue line to see the percentage
- E-mail - the e-mail address to the author if it is registrered in any of the articles included in the search results
- Show articles - you can look at the articles that the matching is built upon
In the article search (Find articles) you will get the following information in the search list:
- Similarity - the similarity level shows the accuracy of the match between your search and the article in the search list - hold the cursor above the blue line to see the percentage
- You can also mark single articles by clicking a box in front of the title or all with the option Select all at the bottom of the page and eport them as references to for example EndNote
JournalGuide has been developed and is managed by software developers, former researchers, scholarly publisher veterans. The resource is financed by Research Square, Under the tab Paper Match you can paste the title and abstract of your manuscript and get suggestions for journals in which to publish. Even though the content covers journals in all kinds of disciplines, the most complete coverage is in biomedicine. In the search list you will get quick information about the following aspects:
- Score - shows the accuracy of the match between your search and the journal
- Journal name - click on the journal name to get complete information about the journal. Here you can also see if the journal is included in JournalGuide's whitelist, i.e. a list of reputable journals (compare blacklists).
- Matches - the number of articles that matches your search criteria. Click on the number in order to get a list of these articles.
- Publisher - the publisher that publishes the journal
- Impact - uses one of Scopus' journal impact indicators, SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper)
- Speed - indicate the journal's information on its (estimated) time from submitted manuscript to publication. However, it is not always that information about this can be indicated ('Unknown').
- Open access - indicates Yes or No whether the journal has any open access policy. Please note! This information is questionable, though. It is better to check this on the journal's website or the databse SHERPA/RoMEO.
- Compare - by clicking the box in front of up to three journals you can compare these by bringing up a table based on the aspects above, as well as in which databases the journals are indexed.
More about JournalGuide here.
Springer is a large commercial publisher and together with BioMed Central you can search among over 2,500 journals. You enter your manuscript's title and abstract and you can also limit to a general subject, least Impact Factor, acceptance rate and time to first decision and to journals that offer open access options. In the search list you get information about:
- Subscription - is stated if it is a subscription-based journal
- Open Access - is stated if it is an open access journals (so-called gold open access)
- Subscription & Open Access - is stated if it is a subscription-based journal with paid open access options (so-called hybrid open access)
- Impact Factor - the journal's Impact Factor if it is indexed in Web of Science
- Time to first decision - how long it will take to get a first decion whether the manuscript will get peer review or not
- Acceptance rate - the share of submitted manuscripts that will be accepted for publication
Manuscript Matcher - Web of Science/EndNote online (subscribed resource)
If you are a member of staff at Jönköping University you will have access to EndNote online (besides having access to the desktop version as well). In EndNote Online there is a function called Manuscript Matcher with which you can type or paste your mansucript title and abstract in order to find matching journals. The Manuscript Matcher matches journals indexed in Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index).
Manuscript Matcher - EndNote Training [2:58]