Skip to main content

Publishing Strategy

Tags: English, General

Gold and Platinum open access

Gold and Platinum open access


 

Open access journals are journals whose content (articles) are freely available on the Internet. Both large and small publishers publish open access journals. The basic difference between open access journals and subscription-based journals is the financial model they use to finance their publishing. The free vs. subscription based access to their articles. Some open access journals have author fees (APC - Article Processing Charges) while others are financed by a university or research organization and there are no fees involved. There are also membership models, for example Biomed Central's membership model.

The umbrella term for these open access journals is usually Gold Open Access but they are actually two different types based on their fee vs. no fee aspect:

  • Gold Open Access
    This term refers to open access journals that are financed via author fees (APC - Article Processing Charges). Even the large publishers publish this kind of open access journals, for example Elsevier, Springer and Taylor & Francis
  • Platinum Open Access
    This term refers to open access journals that don't charge any author fees (APC - Article Processing Charges). They are usually financed by a university or research organization.


Find and quality control open access journals:


Search in journal indexes

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)    

DOAJ is a database for open access journals. The journals that are listed in DOAJ have undergone a qualitative vetting process based on aspects such as the journals' peer review process, editorial board, contact information etc. See more about this here. Besides this, you can also search for open access articles. DOAJ can answer questions like these:

  • Are there any open access journals within my field?
  • Is the open access journal I'm curious about included in DOAJ?
  • Is there any author fee included (APC - Article Processing Charge)?
  • From which country is the journal?
  • How long is the publishing process (Time from submission to publication)?

When you search in DOAJ you can see in the search list whether the journal has any author fee or not:


If you click on the journal title you will get a link to the journal website and more basic information, such as publisher, country, keywords describing its content, author fees and other editorial information:

 

Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing
         A description of DOAJ's quality assessment process of the journals indexed in the database

  Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) [3:26]

 

Ulrichsweb

Ulrichsweb is a database of journals and other periodical literatur where you also can limit your search to only open access. Remember that Ulrichsweb indexes more or less all journals and doesn't make any qualitative selection (see further in the sections about Questionable publisher and journals) so therefore you need to check the potential journals, for example via the database DOAJ (see above).

In Ulrichsweb you click on the link Advanced Search

Click on More Limiters:

 

In the box Key Feature, select Open Access and click on Search:

 

Limit to open access in journal databases


Web of Science

In the database Web of Science you can in the search results list limit to only open access journals. The limit functions are available in the column left to the search results. Tick the box in front of Open Access - YES:

                   

 

Scopus

In the database Scopus there is an option called Sources > Browse Sources where you can search for journals and limit to only open access journals:

 

Indicator-based journal databases
 

Journal Citation Reports

In the database Journal Citation Reports, where you can search for the Impact Factors of Web of Science indexed journals (more about this database is found in the section Impact factors: Web of Science), you can also limit your search to open access journals only:

 

Scimago Journal & Country Rank

In the database Scimago Journal & Country Rank where you search for impact factors journals indexed in Scopus (more about this database can be found in the section Impact factors: Scopus) you can also limit to only open access journals: