Find databases

Information search

As a student at Jönköping University, you have access to many different databases. There might not be one perfect database which combines medicine and engineering, but with the right combination of search terms you can find information in several databases. Below are a selection of those that could be most useful.

For all databases, check:

MEDLINE
MEDLINE from Ebsco provides information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from several thousand current biomedical journals.
PubMed
PubMed comprises millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL with Full Text is an Ebsco database that provides indexing for several thousand journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
AMED
AMED is an Ebsco database that provides information about published journal articles in fields allied to medicine and alternatives to conventional medicine.
Cochrane Library
Cochrane Library is a collection from Wiley consisting of seven separate databases. Five of these provide coverage of evidence-based medicine, and the other two provide information on research methodology.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
IEEE Xplore Digital Library is an IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineer) database containing full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications.

Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database from Elsevier containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Scopus offers research in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
Web of Science
Web of Science consists of databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, and more.

MASTech

Find databases

Information search

Databases for you