Skip to Main Content

EndNote 20 (desktop)

Tags: English, General

Adding references

Manual entry

  1. From the References menu, choose New Reference.
  2. Choose a reference type from the Reference Type drop-down list. Popular examples of reference types include Journal Article, Book and Web Page.
  3. Press the TAB key to move to the next field.
  4. Click Save to save the data. Click the close button to close the reference or choose Close Reference from the File menu.

 

IMPORTANT! When you add an author, make sure to insert the surname first and then the first name (or initial). Then press enter after each name if you want to add several authors.

several authors in EndNote
 

If you want to add the name of an institution or organization as the main author, be sure to add a comma after the full name.  This is so EndNote will not interpret the last word (Welfare in this example) as a surname and the other words as first names (which it will also convert to initials in most output styles):

National Board of Health and Welfare,

 

Quick guides on adding a reference manually:
Creating a manual entry (Windows) 
Creating a manual entry (macOS) 

 

Direct export from databases

Direct export is perhaps the easiest way to get references from a database into your EndNote library.

  1. Mark your chosen references in the list of search results.
  2. Choose the EndNote or RIS export option when saving your references.
  3. EndNote will be automatically opened, or a file of references will be downloaded in your webbrowser which you can click on to open.
  4. The citation details should be added to your library.

Most databases offer an option to export to EndNote or as a RIS format file. EndNote can also read other file formats, such as .nbib (PubMed) and .ciw (Web of Science). Please refer to the specific database help section for more information.

Export from Web of Science

Export from PubMed

Export from Google Scholar

Configure Settings

To export references from Google Scholar, you can configure the settings first to make the Import into EndNote option available in Google Scholar search results. 

  1. In Google Scholar, click on the menu button on the upper left corner of the screen (looks like three paralell lines).
  2. Click Settings (the last one).
  3. On the Search results page, under Bibliography manager, click next to Show links to import citations into and choose EndNote in the drop down menu.
  4. Then click on the Save button in the lower right corner.
  5. The Import into EndNote option will now be shown in Google Scholar search results display.

Import a reference

To import a reference from Google Scholar into EndNote: 

  1. Perform a search in Google Scholar.
  2. For your desired reference, click on Import into EndNote link located right beneath the reference.
  3. In the pop-up File Download window, click on the Open button.
  4. The chosen reference will be automatically exported into your EndNote library.

Please note that 1) using this method, you can export only one reference at a time from Google Scholar into EndNote; and 2) not all the information in the reference can be exported (such as the abstract or DOI).  If a reference is available in PubMed or another database, you can import it into EndNote with more complete bibliographic information.

Import several references

To import several references from Google Scholar into EndNote, you need to log in to your Gmail account and follow the steps below.

  1. Perform a search in Google Scholar.
  2. Select the references you want to keep by clicking the star icon beneath each selected reference. 
  3. Click My library on the upper right corner of the screen.
  4. This will display all your selected references. Click the box on the top of the screen (right beneath the search box).
  5. Click the downward arrow icon on the top menu and choose EndNote to export the references.
  6. The selected references will be saved in a file to the lower left corner.
  7. Click on the downloaded file to import the references.

Create reference from PDF

You can import a PDF or a folder of PDFs into your library with all the bibliographic information extracted automatically, if the PDFs have embedded DOIs.

  1. Open your EndNote library.
  2. Under the File menu, choose Import.
  3. If it is a single PDF, choose File; if it is a collection of PDFs placed in a folder, then choose Folder.
  4. In the Import File or Import Folder popup window, retrieve the PDF file or folder and click OK.
  5. Make sure that Import Option is set to PDF.

If the PDF file was scanned or it does not have an assigned DOI assigned, then it will not be successfully imported. Instead it will just become an attachment connected to an empty bibliographic record.