Skip to Main Content

EndNote 20 (desktop)

Tags: English, General

Sharing references

Sharing groups

EndNote allows you to share groups with up to 1,000 people. Collaborators will need an EndNote Online account but they don't need a desktop account. 

  1. Highlight the group you wish to share.
  2. Select Groups > Share.
  3. Enter the email addresses of your collaborators, choose the permissions and click on invite.

Sharing libraries

You can share a library with up to 100 people.  Each collaborator will need access to EndNote 20 (desktop) and an EndNote Online account. It is a good idea to back up your library before sharing.

  1. Back up your library by selecting File > Compressed Library (.enlx).
  2. Sync your library with EndNote Online by selecting the Library menu and clicking on Sync Library.
  3. If you don’t have an account, you will be prompted to set up one now.
  4. Select File > Share.
  5. Enter the email addresses of the other collaborators, choose the permissions  and click on Invite. If you want collaborators to have different permissions, then you will need to set up separate shares (i.e., all those with Read & Write, then all those with Read).
  6. Email will be sent to collaborators directing them to a webpage to login to EndNote Online.
  7. In EndNote desktop collaborators can then choose File > Open Shared Library.